Icarus Translations

Zhan Long

Chapter 55- Fight for Your Life

“What?!”

Wang Jian raises his sword and says angrily, “Isn’t Xiao Yao Zi Zai is a strength type healer? This…how can a healer with .5 growth in strength use a Level 4 [Combo] to oneshot Ba Qi?!”

 

Li Mu points at me with his sword and yells, “Stop talking and kill him already!”

 

I get hit by two more arrows in my back and lose 400+ HP. General Lian Po’s archery is way too strong. Facing me, Li Mu thrusts his sword towards me with exceptional speed! The player ranked just second to Yan Zhao, he is indeed strong!

 

……

 

Clang!

 

I powerfully swing my sword as I step backwards into the shallow water with my Silver boots. Li Mu’s sword is forcefully knocked away with a clang. The surprise in his eyes becomes very obvious, he was mistaken to think that a healer’s attack damage and strength can be enough to knock him away.

 

Although I knocked the edge of his sword away, Li Mu reacts quickly. He bends and suddenly leaps forward, and he kicks my chest with his boot!

 

“171!”

 

I roll into the water with a dull feeling in my chest. I clench my fists and thrust them into the surface of the water. A row of chains break through the water, encircling Lian Po

 

Whoosh!

 

General Lian Po gets bound by the chains for 2.1 seconds. At the same time, Baby Bobo also appears behind him, buzzing around while a golden hexagram starts to appear on his stinger.

 

“Ah damn…”

 

Lian Po curses, and falls on the ground, killed within moments.

 

Bang!

 

As I was focusing on killing Lian Po, I receive yet another blow from behind and multiple pets start chasing me around. Wang Jian comes rushing at me with the edge of his sword glowing, indicating a [Combo] cast, and the only thing I can do is keep backing away. While doing that though, I wave my hand, and cast [Heal]!

 

+600!”

 

Li Mu appears at my side and attacks together with Wang Jian. Although my body is in the game, I flick my Jade Sword out of reflex and with a bang, it hits Li Mu’s wrist. At the same time I yell loudly, and the wind concentrates around my blade. With a teal glow lingering on my sword, I quickly slash toward Wang Jian’s shoulders.

 

“Careful!” Li Mu yells out.

 

Wang Jian frowns and backs away quickly and calmly. He saw the wind gather at my blade and backed away immediately. As soon as the strike fishes preparing, I slash at him but only manage to scratch at his shadow; a huge “MISS” pops up. I stare wide-eyed at the empty space where Wang Jian was. Damn, the [Wind Blade] strike missed. What kind of reaction time does Wang Jian have?!

 

At the same time, Li Mu leans forward. His shoulder heavily bumping my exposed side. With a bang, I lose balance and enter a state of immobility. I can’t do anything for 0.5 seconds!

 

Li Mu steadies himself and leans down again. A ray of light appears on his feet and pushes away the water, creating a small whirlpool. It’s the beginning of a combo! Damn it, this guy also learned a combo?

 

“Absolute Authority!”

 

Li Mu yells out loud. His body and the sword seemingly combine as he stabs my chest. After that is a slash, then followed by a stab and then another slash. After 4 continuous strikes, he bellows and throws his entire body and sword straight at me. With a bang, he flings me into the air, and I lose all control!

 

Li Mu twists his body, and the edge of his sword starts glowing. The last attack, [Twisted Strike]!

 

At that time, the damage numbers of the 6 strike combo, [Absolute Authority], finally pop up——

 

“79!”

 

“81!”

 

“76!”

 

“84!”

 

“197!”

 

“514!”

 

……

 

That last attack, [Twisted Strike], is really strong. The length of [Absolute Authority] was 1.9 seconds, and the combo itself is pretty original. I don’t feel too much regret, getting killed by such a great combo.

 

After a sharp pain, I die and became a corpse. I respawn in soul form in a nearby graveyard.

 

I quickly open my bag and check my items. Ahh, I didn’t drop any of my equipment, but I dropped back down to level 31. I also dropped a few batches of [Chilling Wind Pill]. Quite a shame, those are equal to shining white silver coins!

 

Still, the happiest people would be those Generals huh? Kill me once, and they get a bounty of 1000 gold. They made quite a big profit.

 

I clench my fist, and mutter to myself. I can’t let this go. I need to retaliate or else the Generals will think I’m like a plate of food that they can trample over whenever they want.

 

I run towards my corpse as I think about the coming battle. Those 4 Generals are all attack classes, so they have no healer. So I need to use more reasonable tactics; that’ll give me higher chances in succeeding. First, I need to avoid the attacks of Li Mu and Wang Jian. Out of the four of them, those two are the deadliest. Wang Jian can easily dodge my [Wind Blade], and Li Mu has his strong combo.

 

Or maybe I should be kill Li Mu first, then face the others? If I focus hard, I might be able to dodge Wang Jian’s attacks. I also have [Heal] and health potions, so I shouldn’t die.

 

Yep, I’ll do that!

 

……

 

I return to the [Desolate Cloud Swamp], and of course, Li Mu and the others are watching over my corpse, while chatting——

 

Li Mu says, “Actually, I feel a bit sorry for Xiao Yao Zai Zai. For 1000 gold coins, we grouped up to kill him. I feel like we’re giving the General Family a bad name…”

 

Wang Jian frowns, “Boss, when we are weak we have to bow our heads. For those 1000 gold coins, we do what we need to do. What else is there to say? After getting the gold coins, we’ll publicly apologize to him. Besides, Xiao Yao Zi Zai helped [Prague] kill us and steal the boss. Killing him is perfectly reasonable.”

 

Lian Po holds his bow, and says with a slight smile, “With the four of us combined he still killed two. Xiao Yao Zi Zai is very strong. Li Mu, do you think you can win in a 1v1?”

 

Li Mu mutters, “Without pets, I can win. With pets, I will lose. I heard that Xiao Yao’s pet is a Bee Overlord, 5 star in attack, with 97% excellency…”

 

Ba Qi takes a deep breath, “Gah, that’s really OP……”

 

Ba Qi slaps his leg and says, “Well, we’ll kill Xiao Yao Zi Zai one more time and then scram. We shouldn’t stay in this area for too long…”

 

“Mm!”

 

……

 

I wait silently for a good 20 minutes. I don’t want to rush and revive recklessly. I’ll make my move when they start to get twitchy. I need to finish the job in a split second!

 

I look at Li Mu, Ba Qi and the others. Their gray name status lasts for 30 minutes, and it’s just about to end. I need to start soon! I silently countdown, preparing my counterattack after reviving——

 

“3!”

 

“2!”

 

“1!”

 

I revive, and it’s time to take revenge!

 

Whoosh!

 

I revive right behind Li Mu, and I immediately drink a health potion to fill my HP up. I summon Baby Bobo and point towards General Lian Po, telling Bobo to attack him. Finally, I drop down and punch into the water heavily.

 

Clang!

 

Chains suddenly break through the water’s surface, and bind tightly around Li Mu’s feet. For 2.1 seconds, he can’t attack or defend, and he’s not even allowed to drink a health potion.

 

“Damn it!” Wang Jian reacts quickly, and his sword comes flying over.

 

But I’m prepared for it. I spin around and position myself behind Li Mu. At the same time, a golden hexagram starts to form on my sword as I combine the level 4 [Combo] and [Wind Blade] to attack him!

 

Li Mu widens his eyes, and mutters, “I’m done for…”

 

“228!”

 

“231!”

 

“229!”

 

“418!”

 

……

 

I strike 4 times, and Li Mu’s 900 or so HP drains completely as he slowly falls over. Shortly after, he explodes with health potions and a faintly glowing necklace!

 

I stretch out my hand, grab the necklace out of midair and stuff it into my bag. I take my sword, crouch low, and dash towards Wang Jian.

 

Wang Jian widens his eyes, shocked, “Damn, this guy… he’s a sword expert!”

 

Still, even while facing my attack, Wang Jian doesn’t hesitate. He faces the edge of my blade with his chest and, with a whoosh, the Jade Sword cuts into his shoulder. But Wang Jian grabs onto my sword hilt, and with his other hand, his sharp blade starts glowing with a golden hexagram, [Combo] + [Heavy Strike] combined!

 

“233!”

 

“301!”

 

“218!”

 

“+600!”

 

“357!”

 

Thankfully I pulled off a [Heal] in the middle of the combo or else I would have been killed right there. Directly behind me, Ba Qi bellows. I can almost feel the flames from his axe burning my back!

 

I clench my teeth and put power into my feet. I lean down, kick Wang Jian’s leg. His whole body loses balance, and rolls into the mud with me. That also allowed me to dodge Ba Qi’s attack, and as I continue retreating, I look at the cooldown on [Heal]. There’s 3 seconds left, hurry up and get off cooldown!

 

Whoosh!

 

“274!”

 

Lian Po’s arrow strikes again, and I see the end of my HP bar. Luckily, Bobo doesn’t fail his mission and kills of General Lian Po with his combo. Meanwhile, Wang Jian and Ba Qi’s pets, one of them is a Killer Bee and the other is a Green Water Insect, continuously bang on my armor. My HP will drain in the blink of an eye at this rate!

 

Grief consumes me as I see my HP plummet. I can only watch as Ba Qi’s battleaxe falls on me while one second is left on the cooldown of [Heal]. No, that won’t do. I must fight to the death. I counter Ba Qi’s [Fiery Axe] + [Heavy Strike] with my [Combo] + [Wind Blade]. Under the violent attacks, I feel a hot pain in my chest as my HP completely depletes. Simultaneously, the Jade Sword slices open Ba Qi’s chest. He dies as well with blood spurting out!

 

“Die!”

 

Ba Qi looks at his own health as it disappears. He is as sad and angry as I am, “How was he able to kill me too…?”

 

Wang Jian clenches his fist and stands off to the side with a heavy mood, staring at Ba Qi and I as we go into soul form.

 

……

 

Whoosh!

 

I return to the graveyard again in my soul form, and check my equipment first. Mm, Jade Sword, Armor of the Earth, and the Helmet of Cruelness are still here. I only dropped a white tiered cloth leg protector. That’s fine. Oh yeah, Li Mu dropped a necklace for me, let’s see what kind of gift he left me. I take the necklace out of the pack and look. My mood instantly gets better——

 

【Necklace of Bravery】(Bronze-Tier Equipment)

 

Strength: +21

 

Others: Equipper gains 50 HP

 

Level Requirement: 30

 

……

 

Very nice! Adds 21 strength and 50 HP; They’re just the stats I need!

———-

Author: Shi Luo Ye

TL: Gravity

2 comments on “Chapter 55- Fight for Your Life

  1. xiachenliang
    March 2, 2015

    Win! Xian Chen Liang was here!

    Like

  2. Belzee
    March 2, 2015

    commenting so that xiachenliang isnt first

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Arc 5: Ch. 49-60, Volume 1 and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 456,300 hits

Zhan Long

