Icarus Translations

Zhan Long

Chapter 52- Wind Blade

Combos are continuous attacks that force the opponent to be unable to retaliate or block it and it is performed like a single attack. For example Yan Zhao’s [Peerless Strike], is composed of a Stab+Slash+Slash+Kick+Hack. In these 5 continuous strikes, the first four strikes only do 30% of one’s attack damage, but the last “Hack” does at least twice the damage of regular attacks. Therefore, the last strike of the combo will do over 50% of the combo’s damage.

 

This is also why I chose to try to make my combo with “Stab+Slash+Hack+Ram+Slash”. The fourth strike is “Ram”, so as long as that strike is successful, the opponent will be stunned for a short while. It doesn’t matter if the stun is as short as 0.1 seconds, it would be more than enough to finish the combo which is where the real strength of combos lie.

 

In <<Destiny>>’s system, in order for a “Ram” to be successful, one must have more strength and attack damage than the opponent, which is calculated through Strength x 1.5 + Attack damage. So the fights of heavy armor classes, aren’t solely decided by strength but also decided by a good weapon.

 

My development so far is me putting all my points into strength. With my [Heal], I can be undefeatable, since I don’t put points in other stats such as endurance. I’m pretty much a pure-strength swordsman!

 

……

 

Even though the troll in front of me didn’t get knocked back, my fifth attack still dealt over 300 damage! Although it isn’t part of a combo, it still greatly exceeds any normal attack!

 

The total HP of the troll is around 1900 or so and it stood no chance again me and Bobo’s savage attacks. With a cry, it falls and dropped a shiny battleaxe!

 

I happily walk up and pick up the battleaxe. The stats aren’t bad——

 

【Troll’s Battleaxe】(Green-Tier Equipent)

 

Attack Damage: 75-149

 

Strength: +18

 

Other: +11 Strength

 

Level Requirement: 32

 

……

 

Damn, the level requirement is too high and the quality of the weapon isn’t that great either, so top-ranked players like Yan Zhao wouldn’t want this. In a few days, most players would be level 32 or so, then this battleaxe might have some luck. Perhaps I can even sell it for a couple gold coins!

 

I throw the battleaxe into my inventory and continue. This time, I understand the trolls a bit more so I’m more confident. I kick over the pot of soup, and bring Baby Bobo to attack them!

 

“Grr…Damn human, I’ll swallow you alive!”

 

The troll waves around his wooden stick, while I carefully evade, holding Jade City Sword. As a swordsman, my agility is extraordinarily good, so I dodge and a “MISS” pops up from the troll’s attack. I then easily slice its huge leg and back away naturally. Because of my quick movements more “MISS”s show up. I only casted [Heal] once before I killed the second troll and with Bobo, I killed the third one fairly easily as well.

 

Following the two cries, my experience also increased by quite a bit. If all goes well, then after killing 100 trolls I should be able to rise to level 31 and after handing in the mission, I might even get near level 32; one step closer to being a top-level player!

 

Tick!

 

As I was killing trolls, a message comes in. It’s from Yue Qing Qian, “Xiao Yao?”

 

“Mm, Qing Qian!”

 

“You have a bounty of 1000 gold coins by [Wrath of Heroes], did you know that?” She starts up a call and her voice appears, full of worry: “Where are you right now? Have you died yet?”

 

I couldn’t help but laugh: “Of course not, I am currently in the middle of nowhere leveling!”

 

“Mm, that’s good, be careful… How about I bring a few people to where you are, and level up with you. Then there would be no need to worry about the bounty hunters…”

 

“Nah, it’s fine. Qing Qian you can go train by yourself, I don’t want to burden you any more. After what happened… did Yan Zhao continue bothering you?”

 

“Nope. Yesterday he and my dad had a meal together and also drank quite a bit of beer. Although he did rant about how I was not being obedient…”

 

“Haha, then that’s fine…”

 

“About that…” Qing Qian is a bit hesitant.

 

“About what?” I ask.

 

She says: “Xiao Yao, although Yan Zhao’s a bit unyielding, he’s a good person. After he beat you, you won’t hold any grudges right?”

 

I reply: “Why would I, who do see me as eh? I didn’t even have any battle abilities to start with. If I lost, then I lost. I’ll continue working hard. In my eyes, Yan Zhao isn’t an enemy, but rather a strong opponent that I need to defeat. My goal is to beat him in a fair and square fight so that he has nothing to say about me…”

 

“Mm!” Qing Qian lightly laughs: “I guess that’s just how you are!”

 

“Okay, I’ll continue to grind my levels, you work hard too!”

 

“Yep yep, I think it’ll take 3 days to get to level 40. Let’s see who gets there first!”

 

“Okay…”

 

……

 

Continuing on, I kill one huge troll after the other. After I had killed over 70 trolls they finally dropped an armor equipment. It’s a round helmet, shining in the damp grass. I pick it up and check it out, and my heartbeat speeds up. Finally a usable helmet dropped. Up until now there’s been nothing on my head!

 

【Helmet of Cruelness】(Bronze-Tier Equpment)

 

Type: Armor

 

Defense: 62

 

Endurance: +17

 

Level Requirement: 31

 

……

 

Holding the helmet, I check my level again. My experience is at level 30 and 99.4% full; I only need to kill one more troll!

 

Jade City Sword activates a level 3 [Combo] and I easily kill off another troll. With the golden ray falling upon me, I successfully reach level 31; I can wear the helmet now!

 

With a clang, I put the helmet on my head and I look like I’m wearing an inverted bronze spittoon…That really annoys me…

[TL: Spittoon – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spittoon%5D

 

At the same time, I look at my stats. My defense increases by a lot——

 

【Xiao Yao Zi Zai】(Scavenger of Dragon City)

 

Level: 31

 

Attack: 522-705

 

Defense: 322

 

HP: 886

 

MP: 330

 

Charm: 26

 

……

 

322 points in defense. That’s more than enough to defend against the attacks of players at my level. Also, my HP has risen to 886 points which means that I have a stronger safeguard. My [Heal] has also risen to LV-4, every time I can heal 600 HP, if I didn’t have enough max HP then it would be quite a waste…Baby Bobo also became level 31 with me, and his stats are in no way inferior, this guy’s high level is pretty cheaty…

 

【Baby Bobo】(Bee Overlord)

 

Level: 31

 

Attack Damage: 458-610

 

Defense: 305

 

HP: 763

 

MP: 305

 

……

Our stats are enough to challenge everything around here; the monsters near Dragon City won’t have a level too high until the next update. All I need to do now is to train my skills. I need to get [Combo] to LV-4 or else I won’t do enough damage!

 

Soon, I’ve almost reached the amount of Troll kills needed.

 

Walking around on the hill, I find a roughly 30 year old player wearing a medicine bag on his back. He must be doing some kind of herb picking quest, huh?

 

From afar, he looks at me while I stare at him. Bobo is buzzing around and rushes forward with killing intent. But I stop him saying: “Don’t be violent to everyone, let’s go and hand in our quest…”

 

The herb picker looks at me and says nothing. He immediately turns back into the forest, probably to collect more herbs.

 

……

 

I’d finally killed 100 trolls as I look at the time. It’s almost 12 o’clock noon. I immediately return with Bobo; I should deliver the quest before doing anything else!

 

After 10 minutes or so, I reach to the Dragon City Army Camp. The quartermaster towers over me and says: “Young Scavenger, you have shown your strength and killed those nasty trolls. You’ve prevented them from getting near Dragon City. Come, this is your reward!”

 

Ding!

 

System Notification: Congratulations! You’ve finished the quest 【Slaughter the Trolls】. You receive 15000 experience points, 5 gold coins, and your fame in Dragon City has risen. You also received item: [Wind Blade]!

 

……

 

Huh? [Wind Blade], what’s that?

 

I immediately open my bag and I see a faint blood-red skill book laying there. I hold it up and take a look; my mood becomes a lot more cheerful. This book is quite unexpected——

 

【Wind Blade】 (A): Summons the wind to concentrate on the edge of the sword and launches a fierce attack on the opponent. Level 1 increases damage by 3%. Level 10 increases damage by 30%. You may not have both this and [Heavy Strike] at the same time. Uses 20 points of MP, and has a cast time of 0.2 seconds. Level requirement is 30 and consumes 1 point of charm when learning it!

 

……

 

My eyes almost pop out of their sockets…[Heavy Strike], the trump card of knights, swordsmen, and berserkers. At level 10 they only increase damage by 10%, but this [Wind Blade] is a lot better; level 10 increases damage by 30%! But the downside is that it needs 0.2 seconds of casting. It’s very easy to break the attack during the windup and it also needs to consume 1 point of charm to learn it…

 

I weigh the pros and cons learn it. To not learn this skill is too wasteful!

 

Whoosh!

 

My charm goes down to 25 points, and in my skill window [Wind Blade] appears in an extra row. [Wind Blade], with such a good skill, it will be in the last strike of my “Stab+Slash+Hack+Ram+Slash” combo, and conveniently if my “Ram” is successful then I can stun the opponent for 0.2 seconds, just enough to cast [Wind Blade], the strike will undoubtedly kill…

 

……

 

When I talked to Beast Tamer Dalin again: “Instructor, do you have any new skills for me to learn?”

 

Who knows what he ate wrong, but Dalin suddenly rose up and smiled widely: “Boy, you really don’t disappoint me! Come, I’ll pass down my special skill to you!”

 

“Special skill?!” I get extremely excited: “Instructor, what’s your special kill?”

 

“Chains…”

 

“Damn! What chains?!”

 

“It is a special ability that can capture both beasts and enemies, watch closely…”

 

The Tamer strikes the ground, and a few hundred meters in front of us, chains suddenly appear from the ground and shatter a huge boulder!

 

Dalin puts his hands on his waist and proudly says, “How was that, Boy? Pretty powerful eh?”

 

I’m shocked and I hear some thoughts in my head——

 

Oh powerful fellow, you are mighty and majestic…On a horse you are like the wind…and…

 

This…This is not even powerful!

 

……

 

But, I accept the skill, though I need to spend 10 gold coins to learn it..What a rip off!

 

【Binding Chains】 (A): Strike the ground and choose a target for [Binding Chains]. At level 1 there’s a 30% chance of binding the target. Uses 20 mana, lasts for 1.9 seconds. To learn this skill, you must spend 10 gold coins.

 

It goes without saying. 30% is better than 0%. I’ll learn it!

———-

Author: Shi Luo Ye

TL: Gravity

2 comments on “Chapter 52- Wind Blade

  1. xiachenliang
    March 2, 2015

    RESTARTING! First! Xian Chen Liang was here!

    Like

  2. Belzee
    March 2, 2015

    first

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Arc 5: Ch. 49-60, Volume 1 and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 455,746 hits

Zhan Long

