Icarus Translations

Zhan Long

Chapter 28- Poetry and Paintings!

Stormy night…

On the following morning after Liu Ying’s arrest, the campus was bustling with activities. News reporters were all over the school asking questions about Liu Ying’s illegal activities, man did he bring shame to his family!

I find it quite amusing as I sat in my room thinking about the past events. Even though in the eyes of the students at Liu Hua University, I may look like a coward and did not retaliate I know deep down that I got my revenge. No matter what they think of me, how they look at me, I don’t care one bit… What I do care about is that today is the first day of class!

….

Scratching my head as I look over my class schedule, I can’t even begin to know why Wang picked Chinese Literature?!?

In the morning I have two classes and from that I have two books that I have to read for classes… The first book is on Chinese Classical and the second book is on Meng Zi, a Chinese Philosopher… I hate Meng Zi, I hate Ji Xiaolan (Scholar)…

Walking along the campus path with Wan Er and Cheng Yue, I can see the ladies here at Liu Hua University dresses very proper and I can tell that their clothes most be very expensive. Expensive clothing is a necessity here at Liu Hua, it gives you the ability to show off how rich you are and the richer you are the higher your status will be. For me, enjoying this beautiful day with clouds above is more than enough, what would make it better is if I didn’t have to carry this stack of books…

Our first class is Chinese Classical, we entered into a large classroom that seats hundreds of people. Wan Er and Cheng Yue seems like they wanted to be good students so they picked to sit in the front of the class, I dare not object so I went along and sat next to them. The boys in the class then crowds one another to sit behind Wan Er and Cheng Yue so that they may take a peek at the rank 1 and 2 freshmen beauty of Liu Hua University.

I can feel the icy glare from the boys behind me who is envious that I got to sit next to Wan Er. What’s worse is that our professor have on a huge smile, believing that the students exceeding student’s enrollment is due to him being a great professor. Personally I believe it’s because beauty is what attracted these boys here to the class.

With my head prop on my hands I begin to day dream of my one true love, Destiny. Ah… how wasteful to be here in this classroom all afternoon instead of being in game…

“Bobo…”

Wan Er gently elbows me twice and smiled at me and the result of this action is that the professor decided to ask us a question: “For the first row students only, tell me what is Chinese Classical?”

I suddenly stood up and in a loud voice: “Is it poetry and paintings!”

The Prof. looked dumbfounded at me answer

Wan Er giggled and whispered to me: “Idiot, it’s the history of poets!”

I realized my mistake and sat back down, within a few minutes I fell back to sleep.

Whew! I somehow manage to survive the morning classes, ate lunch with Wan Er and Cheng Yue; now I’m back to my room, ready to get on my Healer Swordsman and continue on my journey!

“Swoosh”

I open my eyes to see the glorious Ba Huang City in front of me and I decided to check the rankings! Hmm.. Looks like I’m still Lv. 22 and Ba Huang City rank 1 player is still Yan Zhao Warrior who’s currently at Lv. 27! What a madman, he’s probably wanting to rush to be the first Lv. 40 so that he can acquire a new skill for his job. Word on the street is that at Lv. 40, you get a destructive skill that relates to your class and it would completely over power anyone below Lv. 40!

I look into my pet interface and see Baby Bobo peacefully napping, waiting for the time until I summon him out again. It shouldn’t be much of a problem now for someone to have a 97% excellence pet and with Bobo, my DPS (Damage Per Second) should pass that of a swordsman!

Repairing my equipment to brand new and preparing for the journey ahead, I checked to see what I should do first. Right now my Seven-Star Herb pills recovers 200 mana, a Lv. 4 pill can recover 300 mana, man what a big difference does that make!

Opening my skill list and search for Lv. 4 Alchemy recipe-

Icy Wind Pill: Recovers 300 mana, Icy Herbs x3, Seven-Star Herb x1, Alchemy furnace x2

Ah, Luckily I still have plenty of the Seven-Star Heb leftover from my last batch, the only recipe I need to obtain now is Icy Herbs. I went online to Destiny forum to search out where I could get my hands on the Icy Herb, within a minute I found a post that was related to the Icy Herb. It seems like North of Ba Huang City, in a dense forest cover with snow, a Lv. 22 Assassin stumble upon traces of the Icy Herb. However he could not find the Icy Herb itself anywhere. The place he last seen it was at Cold Wind Forest.

Opening my world map I begin to look for the Cold Wind Forest. It seems that it would take about an hour travel to reach this forest so I decided to buy a Ba Huang City Teleport Scroll so that I may save on time! I’m sure I can make that 1 gold back with this trip!

“Everything is ready! Time to set out on my adventure!”

With my trustworthy Bramble Thorn Sword next to me, I walk towards the exit of Ba Huang City. Ba Huang City can be said to be the most vicious and have the most PKers of the three cities. Outside I can see Humans, Undead, Wind Elves, Moon Elves, and Barbarians fighting to the death with each other. For me, the most important thing is leveling up and rushing to get my Alchemy up to Lv. 4 so that I could make a fortune!

With the Icy Herb in mind I begin my journey north to the Cold Wind Forest, ignoring all the small preys that I happen to bypass. Running for 30 minutes I finally came upon monsters that were higher level and much more dangerous. A System notification pop up on my screen warning me not to go farther due to the difference in Levels and that its dangerous.

A wave of my hand and a hexagram appear in front of me. Out came Baby Bobo, gleefully and cheerfully flapping his little wings around me. At Lv. 15 Bobo attack is at 291 and it’s what I will depend on for the success of this mission!

Continuing to move forward I came upon a damp and dark area that is surrounded by undead soldiers who restlessly pace back and forth. In their tattered armor and welding a bloody crossbow, I feel an ominous presence in them!

Slowly, but carefully I approach them to try and inspect them –

[Death Hunter] (ordinary monster)

Level: 27

Attack:? ? ?

Defense:? ? ?

Health:? ? ?

Skills:? ? ?
Description: Death Hunters, souls of human beings who died along the area of the Cold Wind Forest . They were unable to pass on to the afterlife so they stuck around the forest to kill any who dare trespass on their territory. Ba Huang City posted numerous bounties for these Death Hunter, but no one dare to hunt them.

Due to them being 5 levels ahead of me, I was unable to see how much their Attack and Defense was. That’s where the problem resides in, without knowledge of their Attack and Defense it will be hard to come up with a strategy to defeat these monsters. Good news is, a solo player who defeats monster who is 5 lvls higher can gain tons of exp! While a team who kills the same monster will have to share their experience which significantly decreases the exp.

I look on my shoulder to see Baby Bobo happily flapping his wings around me and I smiled. Ah, thank goodness I have you!

“Ready!”

I pointed my fingers at the Death Hunter, “Attack!” with a lighting fast speed, Bobo flew straight to them! Wow, with a 4.5 stars in Agility and 97% excellence, Baby Bobo is friggin fast!

“Buzzzzzzzzz…..”

At first I didn’t like all the buzzing sound that Bobo made, but now it’s like angels singing to me! Bobo raised his stingers up and with that a hexagram appear on the chest of the Death Hunters. Bobo attacks 3 times, pricking the Death Hunter’s armor and with a “pop!” the Hunter’s armor was broken and blood squirted all over the ground!

“138!”

“120!”

“141!”

I wasn’t too surprise that the damage is not as high as it should be due to Bobo being Lv. 15 only and the Death Hunter is at Lv. 27, still the damage is quite nice!

“Lift…”

The Death Hunter raised his bow up preparing for an attack and with a loud “BOOM”, Bobo was shot with the crossbow which resulted in significant damages!

“254!”

I was quite shock at the damage, but at the same time I quickly cast Heal on Bobo and drew my sword out, Sword Tempest activating. I rush towards the Death Hunter and with Bobo by my side, we were unstoppable!

After several near death experiences, we finally manage to beat our first Death Hunter!

A golden light fell upon Baby Bobo and he level up to 16. I added all his points to strength and I also felt my own experience increase by a lot!

Continuing to kill Death Hunters one after another for nearly 2 hours, I manage to gain 47 silver coins! At the same time, I level up to Lv.23 and Baby Bobo is now at Lv.20 with amazing stats!

[Baby Bobo] (King Bee)

Level: 20

Attack: 271-388

Defense: 194

Health: 485

Magic: 194

Skills: [Batter LV-2] [Thrusting LV-2]

Excellence: 97%

Note: King Bee Stats Calculations

Attack= Growth x 10 (0.97 + 1)(10 x (0.75 (Level (0.97 +1)))

Defense= Level x 5 (0.97 +1)

Health= Growth x 12.5 (0.97 +1)

Magic= Level x 5 (0.97 +1)

*Growth= Stars, Ex: Bobo’s Agility has 4.5 stars and Strength at 5 stars

So basically, Bobo maximum attack is at 388, defense at 194, health 485. Compare to other monster at his levels, his stats far surpasses theirs in comparison!

With Baby Bobo by my side happily flapping along, I continue on my journey in the forest. After awhile of walking I notice snow on the ground and a system notification pop up in front of me.

Notification: Please be aware that you have enter Cold Wind Forest!

I felt a cold chill, probably due to excitement or because of the cold, but it doesn’t matter because I finally arrived at Cold Wind Forest!!!

———-
Author: Shi Luo Ye
TL: Icarus

49 comments on “Chapter 28- Poetry and Paintings!

  1. winterfun60
    February 11, 2015

    Maaan it took me a long time to find your blog! Its only when I accidentally forgot to put spacings in icarus translations that i managed to find the blog. Btw , im first?

    Like

  2. winterfun60
    February 11, 2015

    Fiiirst. Thank you for the speedy chapters~ although there might be people slamming you for causing gravity to possibly drop what their translating I personally feel that so what if you’re releasing faster than him at a lower quality? I personally read every chapter twice. Once here and once at gravity to make sure i missed out on nothing.

    Like

  3. xiachenliang
    February 11, 2015

    Look, Gravy can say all they want but the main point is they took X amount of dollars in donations promising chapters within 24 hours without stating a limit on how much they could produce.

    24 hours later, the only person translating is Icarus, and those folks seem to have been scammed from my view.

    Then Gravy posts saying they going to drop it? After getting money? And posting nothing so far?

    W.T.F. in my books.

    And the whole 1 person translates better? I mean frankly it’s kind of insulting to insinuate that I can’t use my imagination to fill in a bad translation’s gaps.
    (By bad I mean gobbldegook)

    With Icarus’s arrangement of grammar and syntax, even if it’s not perfect, I can easily grasp the story. I don’t see a real major diff between Gravy and Icarus at all imo.

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Lol, Thanks. I occasionally go over to Gravity’s and check out their comments. It amuses me and makes my day!

      Like

  4. Hidan
    February 11, 2015

    Thank you for the fast chapters, and everything was easily readable so i wonder how you get these out so fast o.o

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Because I don’t put in as much details as Gravity’s. If you compare the two, his is more fluid. But then with everything, to balance quality and quantity is extremely difficult.

      Like

      • Anonymous
        February 12, 2015

        As far as quality goes, the major issues with your translations are the grammar and some word choice. There are some legitimate errors, but the main points are mostly comprehensible, at least compared to the machine translation Gravity’s accused you of. That said, I’ve read a few LNs with pure machine translation, so I have a low standard. I think it’d be best to go with the current system but have editors fix mistakes after posting an incomplete draft and revise it afterwards, because I for one really look forward to the next chapter. In regards to quantity, I view it as more important than quality at the moment (as long as it’s understandable). There are 1404 chapters of Zhan Long, so it’s going to take awhile if it’s done Gravity’s way, where “each chapter is translated and edited twice, by three different people”. Anyways, please don’t be discouraged by people insulting you. As a reader, I’m glad you’re working on it.

        Like

  5. Belzee
    February 11, 2015

    Damn because of all the commotion in the gravity translations that it made me curios to look for your site. Same as the first comment, took me about an hour just to find this blog. That was quite a struggle nut i finally found it.. ahaha

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      So? Is it bad as they say? I’m still learning and will do what I can to make a better quality translation.

      Like

      • Ace
        February 11, 2015

        Almost nothing. Only things I saw were little things like ” News reporters was” (it’s supposed to be “were”) and “man did he brought” (supposed to be ‘bring’) but only little things. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Keep up the good work!

        Like

      • icarustranslation
        February 11, 2015

        I guess what they meant was the fluidity of the text. A lot of Gravity’s fan said they didn’t understand a thing so I want to fix it if I can.

        Like

      • Ace
        February 11, 2015

        From what I’ve read I can understand it perfectly. I say keep up the good work! I don’t care what gravity says. It’s a good translation in my books.

        Like

      • Belzee
        February 12, 2015

        Gravity has fluidity in their trans, but your trans are easily readable as well. I don’t mind quality before quantity but right now i am(probably most of us) are getting to much excited on the story and wont mind a few mistakes here and there. I also read gravity trans as well in case if I miss anything important. Your speedy trans which i like btw makes up for the quality since you would have done better if spend more time in each chapter but as you have said if we want quality then we can go to gravity trans since you are focusing on getting as much chapters as possible,

        Like

  6. Ratbunuts
    February 11, 2015

    I just recently discover this LN and I’m loving it. Thanks for the fast release. I read it twice too

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Dude, I read it so much over and over when HelloKitty started translating it… there were only 6 chapters and I was dying to know more! So I did a lot of research and said fk it… I’ll do this myself lol.

      Like

  7. hellraiser
    February 11, 2015

    Thanks for the fast translations! And I don’t think the quality is bad at all.

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Thanks! My main goal is just to get a general understand of the story. If you wanted to know the exact color of his eyes and how many teeth Xiao Yao have, you can check out Gravity’s lol… (joking)

      Like

      • Alukash
        February 11, 2015

        does that mean u sometimes remove parts of the story or something? or are details like that something that gravity added on their own and wasnt part of the story originally (btw thx for fast translations >.<)

        Like

      • icarustranslation
        February 11, 2015

        Chinese can be quite complicated and certain forms,letters, or words can mean several different things. I summarize a paragraph while he adds onto a paragraph what he believes make sense. All in all, I would read his for quality and if you can’t wait stop by mine for a glance until he post his up. I don’t care where anyone reads lol, just enjoy this awesome manhua.

        Like

  8. Ace
    February 11, 2015

    Another good chapter. 🙂 Lol, I love this book! Good job Icarus!

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Oh man, I’m translating as I read them so I’m just as happy to find out about what’s going on as you guys!

      Like

  9. oezsoyb
    February 11, 2015

    thanks

    Like

  10. Anon
    February 11, 2015

    Horrible quality. I can see why gravitytranslation trash talk these releases.

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Ah the infamous Trolls of the Net. You guys make my day with your comments lol.

      Like

  11. You suck :)
    February 11, 2015

    Just here to say you’re appaling. Won’t be coming back.

    BTW, on http://www.baka-tsuki.org/project/index.php?title=Zhan_Long
    you can see the links and other novels.

    Like

  12. jimmydroptables
    February 11, 2015

    So, since gravity might drop this at 37 which is a shame. Are you going for all 1400 chapters? Or until you get bored?

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Like I said before, I won’t make any promises, but I will do what I can to finish this LN. I love reading and this is a great story.

      Like

  13. Alukash
    February 11, 2015

    so how many chapters would u say youre gonna post a day cus in my head im like maybe hell post 20 more today? XD so just wondering so i dont start losing it XD

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      So far with work school and gf mix in with translating I’m able to do 2 a day. 1 in the morning and 1 before I sleep. Can’t promise that it’ll stay that way. I also said that after Feb. 20th I’ll be posting a lot more. Next week is gonna be really busy for me so I might only post once a day. I

      Like

      • Alukash
        February 12, 2015

        ah alright thx for the info~

        Like

  14. RobotLove
    February 11, 2015

    Sooner or later you’ll quit. Just cause you say your addicted to zhan long you translate but clearly you just want money. Give it up dude if you want money at least have the quality like gravitytranslations……

    Like

  15. plusy
    February 12, 2015

    while gravity does have better quality, i think he is just being an ass for saying that your translation is unreadable. its perfectly fine. i have read countless translations during my leeching adventures on the internet, and you are definitely among the best. keep up the good work and dont let anymore discourage you.

    Like

    • Ace
      February 12, 2015

      I couldn’t agree more, Plusy. Gravity was just being an ass. I don’t really care about quality. I have read many LN’s in my day and age and your trans is one of the best, Icarus.

      Like

      • icarustranslation
        February 12, 2015

        Thank you for your support guys! But I know I have many things I still need to learn about editing, grammar, mechanics and such. Hopefully by Chapter 1400 I should be able to master it all lol.

        Like

  16. Linkd90
    February 12, 2015

    So I did come to see the diff between grav’s and yours and let me say this. Yours is in no way unintelligible however you do have several grammar mistakes that may pull people out of story immersion. This is not a big deal as I can pull through it. And I do appreciate both groups working in tandem as they release this. And while my English is not that good if you would like to improve quality my suggestion is bring onboard a friend or fan who is willing to help you out w/grammar. (Still reading yours and grave) but you are in no way doing a bad job to ease tensions why don’t you guys do like an every other chapter thing so no one is fighting and we still end up with ~2 chapters a day lol (I’m greedy) and erryone wins like in the early days of Shieldbro

    Like

  17. hi
    February 12, 2015

    You are an idiot Icarus. Whether or not you are doing the translations for your benefit and others who simply want quantity rather than quality, the fact remains that you are now one of the translators (if not the only TL remaining) and that comes with a responsibility.

    You explicitly stated that you started doing this because you could not wait for the chapters yet to come. THIS is where I doubt your brain capacity. Gravity TLs already stated that 27-35 has been TL’d. If you truly wanted the series to progress faster, YOU CAN EASILY WORK WITH THEM AND START TRANSLATING CHAPTERS 35+ and then start splitting chapters as required. This would make the series progress much faster than your silly and childish attempt to “bring TLs faster” and doing chapters already complete. Congratulations. You have just butchered a series with so much potential.

    Like

  18. belegorn
    February 12, 2015

    Thank you very much for ur job my friend, greetings from Perú 🙂

    Like

  19. Player -8
    February 12, 2015

    Lol, I just found about this site after hearing about it from Gravity, and I have to say, honestly these translations are very readable, and you release 2 chapters per day, that is until the 20th. Gravity makes it seem like you’re a bad person, but all I see is you supporting Gravity, and saying that Gravity has quality translations, while you have quantity. All in all, I am very thankful that you are taking the time to do translations, and I don’t mind the quantity over quality, seeing as how there are over 1000 chapters. This novel has really interested me, and I am happy to see that you a re translating it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • icarustranslation
      February 12, 2015

      Lol thanks, yeah it doesn’t matter to me what anyone say. His translations are easier to understand no doubt. This site is for those who can’t wait to know what happens next! anyways enjoy your time, we have a long ride ahead of us.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Guest
    February 12, 2015

    How are you getting these out so fast? And the quality is above average, baring a few grammatical errors, but it’s no worse than some manga scan groups. It’s good work. If you compare reading a pure machine translated chapters of zhan long (like a page translator) to these translations, it’s honestly night and day. Keep doing your thing.

    Like

  21. creamycookiex
    February 12, 2015

    lol. really doesn’t make sense why gravity will drop zhan long. I mean what’s the point of stopping when the both of you just want to share this awesome novel to fans (*IF). Translating isn’t all about money.

    Like

  22. zodiac
    February 12, 2015

    your translations are easy to read and understand…only difference with gravity is that their’s seems a bit more detailed and fluid..but right now most people want to know what happens next rather than the beauty of story.

    Like

  23. Alibabuya
    February 12, 2015

    Wow, why must gravitytranslation drop Zhan Long because of these shitty translation. On the same level as shitty hero of the shield translation on Baka-Tsuki.

    Like

  24. sashiko
    February 12, 2015

    Thanks for the speedy translations 🙂
    when i first read the manhua at bato.to I just fell in love with it and was so glad there was an LN and that helloshorty would be translating it and was later pass on to goodguyperson. And now you pick this wonderful novel as well, thank you.

    Im so addicted in this manhua I even read the raws using MT and creating my on interpretation of the story and then Read your’s and gravity’s translation once you guys release it.

    Keep up the good work.

    Like

  25. landzsa
    February 12, 2015

    Hey Icarus, how long did it take you to learn enough Chinese to start reading these?
    Also if where did you learn it?

    Like

  26. Dent_bing
    February 12, 2015

    Well.. I understand why those guys on gravity got pissed, cos you basically “snatched” their project. LN community are big, and there are ethics too. if there are other translating their project ahead of them, naturally they will be discouraged and most of them will dropped it. You should actually contact them beforehand if you willing to take the torch and give them some credits too..(not just replying comment of some peole here and there) Well maybe you are new on this. So i hope you’ll being responsible, and keep on going, cuz most highly gravity’s will drop this project and only you left. I just hope as a big fan of Zhan long, i can still enjoying this wonderful novel.
    Thanks btw 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2015 by in Arc 3: Ch. 25-36, Volume 1 and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 455,746 hits

Zhan Long

