Icarus Translations

Zhan Long

Chapter 27- Revenge is Sweet!

I started shivering as my in-game consciousness called out to me, who is this man that stands in front of me? I took a closer look and it finally dawned on me. He’s wearing the same Vacheron Constantin watch as the same swordsman that I had stolen from in Ba Huang City, Tyrant of Western Chu!
I quickly calmed down, said in a even voice: “I don’t believe that I know you.”
Liu Ying eyes stare at me coldly: “You may not know me, but I know you very well. You are the Thief who stole my Bramble Thorn Sword, the one who killed so many of my guild members at seven-star valley, and probably the one who made the cave collapse on us?!?”

With a cold demeanor, I smiled slightly: “Evil forces should be punish, that is how it should be…”

“Come here and face me!”
Liu Ying looked behind me at Wan Er, with an air of hostility, said: “Even though my blood is boiling, Lin Wan Er’s beauty will stop me from destroying you, stand aside you pet dog!.”

I stood still, spoke faintly: “I already told you, Wan Er had too much to drink, so I would replace her and have a toast with you.”

“Who the hell are you to toast with me!”

Liu Ying rages, raised his glass of red wine and splashed it directly in my face. The spicy flavor hits me instantly, aged 30 years, 53 degrees, ah… 25,000 yuan bottle gone to waste!

“Xiao Yao!” Tanggu, my brother with glasses seeing me attacked suddenly stood up.

Liu Ying looked at Tanggu, like a tiger ready to pouch on its prey. Tanggu stares back, but slowly sat back down, this wasn’t a fight he could win.

……

I stood there, motionless, looked at Liu Ying. At this moment I have more than 20 kinds of method to kill him within seconds, but I must restrain myself because Lin Tian Nan and Wang Shu hired me to protect Wan Er as her secret bodyguard. I can’t and won’t reveal my identity, nor can I show other people the skills that I’m capable of. I must be secretive or else I will lose everything the moment I’m unable to restrain myself, in which case I will fail my mission.

“Looks like you want to fight?”
Liu Ying looked at me and laugh at my face, continued to say: “You are such a coward, you don’t even have the courage to fight back.”
I looked at him coldly, my eyes surging with the intention to kill.

” ……”
Liu Ying unconsciously took two steps back. It seems that he can sense the killing intent directed towards him.
Behind me, Wan Er slowly stood up, holding her glass of red wine, said to Liu Ying: “That’s enough! I will drink with you.”

She then precedes to down the glass of red wine, at the same time looked at me. Wan Er picked up a piece of napkin and wipe my cheeks that was still wet.

Liu Ying stood there with frustration, stared and said: “Just you wait, sooner or later I will steal the things precious to you and then I will kill you!”

I said nothing, turned around, looked at the group of students that had came to witness the incident. A boy raising his cup up to his mouth, poured the white wine down his throat slowly and calmly, took a deep breath and whisper to the others around him. This is not going to end well, I must be on my guard and protect Wan Er at all cost.

Other students who watch the events that just unfolded looked at me with amazement, even the old professors dare not say anything.

Cheng Yue looked at me, muttered: “Xiao Yao, is something wrong…”

I gave her a reassuring smile: “We’re ok…”

Wan Er stood up, bows to everyone: “I’m sorry everyone, I’m not feeling too well so I will be heading back…”

She then turns away and I hurriedly stayed behind her, Cheng Yue hesitantly followed us.

……
Outside the banquet hall, a cold wind was blowing. In front me, Wan Er in her dark blue dress, her skirt was fluttering in the wind, I can see a pair of slender legs and her curves. She wasn’t walking straight so I rushed up, held her arms, said “m’lady, are you okay?”
Wan Er shook her head and gently push my arms aside, said: “Get away from me.”

Me: “……”
I stayed behind her from a distant, Wan Er walked into a flower garden and sat on a stone bench, looking like a wounded kitten.

I stood still silently besides her.

After awhile, Wan Er raised her head, with her beautiful eyes in tears, crying and angrily said: “Xiao Yao, you know, I hate you, I hate you, I hate you!.”

Me: “……”
She continued crying and said: “You are my father’s will imposed on me, never to be out of his sight, never to do the things I want. Just like my mother, who is like a tool that my father used! I’m subject to his power, a prisoner! I hate him and I hate you too…”
I was silent, but I understand her feelings about her father Lin Tian Nan

“m’lady ……”

After a long while, I whispered: “It’s cold at night, we should go back early so that you do not catch a cold…”

Wan Er sat there quietly, cried for a while, wiped her tears, stood up with eyes red and puffy, said to me “I’m sorry…”
I laughed shaking my head: “No, you shouldn’t be, you did nothing wrong.”

“No, I shouldn’t have been angry.”
” I love you ……”

“That’s a cheap shot ……”

“Hee hee!”

A woman’s mood is like the weather, it comes and goes as they please, but I know now that the bond between Wan Er and I isn’t as close as it seems, in fact, very far…
We walked along the roads of the campus

After awhile, I asked: “m’lady, you really didn’t want to fight?”

Wan Er stopped, looked at me stunned: “What do you mean…”

I gave her a big smile: “If you commanded, I would accompany you to resist whoever goes against you!”

Wan Er looked at me puzzled, stayed silent, and all of a sudden laughed and walked up to me, patted me on the shoulder” “Forget it, I don’t believe you, you are too good at following orders…”

“You B*&** ……” That upset me.
Wan Er smiled and continued walking and soon after we arrived at her dorm and she went inside.

……
I stood there awhile, as I soon as I was about to leave, a small sexy woman in red, smile at me seductively and said: “you’re a guy, would you mind to accompany me?”

Damnit, is she a prostitute?

I dare not say anything

Not far away, a few people begin to slowly walked over, it was none other than Tyrant of Western Chu and his lackeys. All were drunk and of course Liu Ying walks over, carrying half a bottle of liquor, licked his lips, looking miserable, said: “Unfortunately I didn’t get to see that beauty Wan Er, man what a curve on her body! If I were to get her in bed, I wouldn’t want to get out of bed for three days!”

Several other boys laughed.
In a heartbeat, I pulled the prostitute away from the group and into the woods.

“Oh, you don’t have to worry about the guys” The prostitute moved close to me and I could feel her body rubbing against me: “If you want to do it on the grass it’ll be 50, you want to come twice? Well since I’m nice, it’ll just be 100!”

I immediately pulled out 200, said: “this is for you, help me do one thing.”

“What is the matter?”
“There’s a red-hair boy, he is an idiot with a lot of money. Pull him into one of the rooms and do what you do best.”

“He really have a lot of money?”

“Super rich!”

“Okay ……”

……

The prostitute touch me on the chest once and leaves, heading towards the clueless Liu Ying. They had some conversation I could not hear and seems to have made an agreement. Liu Ying is oblivious to everything and only notice this pretty woman who’s interested in sleeping with him for the night, since he was rejected by Wan Er, he had to cool the fire in his pants with this pretty woman.

Lurking in the dark, I followed the two closely out of the gate, pulled out my phone and dial Wang Xin.

“Brat, what happened?” Wang said
“Wang!” I laughed and said: “Immediately notify the police bureau that’s in charge of prostitution in public over at Liu Hua University, send over a police uniform, I’m about to make a catch tonight!”

“Ah? When did you start doing these type of work?”

“I like it, quickly send the uniform to me or I will quit…:

“Ok you brat, but don’t you dare to threat me……”

“Ah!”

……

I watch as Liu Ying and the woman enter 169 Station Street Inn. Four police officers that I know approach me: “Xiao Yao!”

“Do you guys have the uniform?”

“Of course!”

Quickly, I put on the police uniform, as well as the deputy director’s badge

I then precede to the hotel, facing the front desk, showed my police badge and asked for Liu’s room, which is room 308. I looked at the hostess: “Thank you gorgeous.”

The hostess looked at me with her fluster faced and giggled: “You welcome Mr. handsome Police Officer…”

……

I, along with a few other police officer went up to 3rd floor. It was a wooden door with a chain lock, so I gladly kicked it open and I could hear the panic voices inside.

I did not wish to reveal my identity so I lowered my hat down and shouted: “Freeze! this is the police!, We suspect that you are involved in illegal activities, you have the right to an attorney, but you must first come back to the police station with us.”

Liu Ying still in his drunk state, stared at me: “Damnit, get out!, Do you know who I’am?!?”
I instantly flew towards Liu Ying, raised my fist and struck Liu Ying on his cheeks! Blood spilling out of his mouth.

“I have the power here… put your hands behind your back!”

I grinned, took off my police uniform and handed back the badge and uniform to the police officers. I instructed them to leave the woman alone and we continue on our way. He was a fool to embarrassed me at the party, I may have seem calm and cool, but I won’t ever forget to get my revenge! For the younger generations, we should abide by the rule – Revenge is Sweet!

……

—————-
Author: Shi Luo Ye
TL: Icarus

26 comments on “Chapter 27- Revenge is Sweet!

  1. plusy
    February 11, 2015

    awesome thnx

    Like

  2. leser
    February 11, 2015

    hi thanks for the great chapter
    there is a list of chapter names
    http://www.baka-tsuki.org/project/index.php?title=Zhan_Long
    hope it helps

    Like

  3. dedicated reader
    February 11, 2015

    thanks Icarus,
    would you please enable mobile theme or change the theme.
    your current wordpress theme prevent me (with old cell phone) for viewing the content.
    thanks again

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Sorry bro, but I have absolutely no idea how I would do that. This is the first time I open this type of website :[. However, I will search around and see. WordPress is difficult and won’t open for some browsers.

      Like

  4. voodoo
    February 11, 2015

    Hey Thanks alot for the translation.
    what’s the orignal text from china?

    Like

  5. Shiikun
    February 11, 2015

    Dear Icarus-san

    Did you know that GoodGuy already PMed you about he’ll be TLing chaps 27-37 ? yet, you ignored it…
    As of now, he’s furious about it your actions about what happened here… The good news “for you” is he’ll be dropping the Trans at ch35 or giving it the project low priority.
    I’ll ask you this, Is your “rouge activity” you done worth it?
    I know this project is “free” to translate, but at least respect the other translator working with this one and cooperate with them, not disrespecting them by taking a march ahead on the chapters they’re working with.
    .
    .
    .
    OK. rant over, now back to the TL
    First, you’re overusing “I’m”. Identify first if the tone/word is in respectful or casual.
    Second, if you’re shorting the words, at least consider the others e.g. “I will >> I’ll”, etc.
    Finally, at least use some wordplay in some areas… Don’t go full literal translated, it’ll kill the fun of the chapter yanno?


    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      “I’m” going to say this one last time before I ignore the trolls that wanders into this page just to throw out their negative feedback. First, I never said my “translations” were superior in any way, think of it as a simplified way to know what the chapter is about. Gravity does great works with his translations and he also got great team members who helps out while I do this by myself. Second, have I ever gone to Gravity’s site and trash talk or say anything bad about him? No, I have not. In fact, I praised him and thank him multiple times. So why do some of you feel the need to be so negative. Third, I know I’m not doing the best job translating, but to juggle between work, school and girlfriend, life can be very hectic. I’m only doing these translation so those who wants to have a “general” idea of what’s happening can read it. If you wish to know the details of the story, gravity’s site is the best choice. Last, thank you for correcting my choice of word usage. This is my first time translating/editing and I’m learning a lot. With that, please don’t come here just to be negative. No one is telling you that you have to click on my site, it’s your own choice that you search my site.

      Thank you all who still supports me and I will continue to do what I can, when I can. I don’t have a schedule, but after Fri. 20th I will be putting a lot more out. I’m choosing quantity over quality. There’s over 1300 chapters, doing 1 a day would take about 4 years to finish… So, if you want quality go to gravity’s site. I dont even know how many times I already advertise Gravity’s site on my page lol.

      Like

      • Shiikun
        February 12, 2015


        Duuuude… When did I say your translation is not “superior”?
        If you ignore my ranting aside, I was merely pointing out mistakes and suggesting to change some misfits in the text(if possible).
        Second, I like your works, even it is almost full literal, there’s not much mistake can be seen(from me) to re correct.
        Third, even you’re lone man translator, no editor nor PR(proof reader) yet your works were good.
        Look, don’t take my ranting in a negative way, I was only asking that is it worth TLing for? If yes, then prove it that it is worth it.
        To begin with, I am neither goodguy’s side nor yours. I treat all TLs equally. I was only pointing some misfits and suggesting to correct it(if possible)
        Lastly, if you’re gonna go “Quantity over Quality”. I suggest you to recruit a PR to make the text look neat because if you’re gonna go speed TL while maintaining the quality the same, it’s gonna be hard on you(mentally)
        Try recruit your friends or the lurkers here, maybe they’ll help.
        I’ll say it again, don’t take my TL suggestions in a negative way… alright? I only wrote it to try suggest on some mistakes and improve the quality further.

        Like

      • icarustranslation
        February 12, 2015

        Lol I was trying to response to the other people all in one post not just you’re :]

        Like

      • Shiikun
        February 12, 2015

        Also, if what I wrote to you is bashing you or whatsoever… then, sorry. I hope you to forgive me for poor choice of words.

        Like

  6. ZhanLongLover
    February 11, 2015

    Will you promise to follow this novel until the end (1300 chapters something?) ..because Gravity has dropped the project and if you also leave it halfway then we are doomed 😦

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      I said it multiple times, I’m madly addicted to this novel so more than likely yes. I won’t make false promises, but I will do what I can.

      Like

  7. Syc234
    February 11, 2015

    What a scummy thing to do, sniping a decent novel from a group already translating it. Hell maybe i should start my own blog and google translate the next 15+ chapters. Oh well. Its a shame people like you exist.

    Like

    • icarustranslation
      February 11, 2015

      Lol go ahead, why in the world would that bothers me.

      Like

    • oezsoyb
      February 11, 2015

      “Sniping?” In what way is icarus obligated to communicate with other groups? He mentioned that this translation focuses on quantity to cover the 1,4k chapters as fast as possible, and if gravity translations acts like a spoiled child whos seeing some other kid playing with the same toy as himself, its hardly icarus’ fault for this kind of attitude. By that logic gravity “sniped” the original author and even explicitly asked for donations if they want more chapters, so who is the real villian here?

      Liked by 1 person

      • oezsoyb
        February 11, 2015

        same toy as his own*

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shiikun
        February 12, 2015

        Nonono. Raws and TL are different things alright? Even the author of Zhan Long post the raws free at 17k, TLers can do with their translation whatever they want to. Either they post it for free or they’ll translate it if there’s donation. Look, the peers happily donated to gravity and if you’re going for that “snipe” logic, it’s like you’re saying that the other TLers in other novel translation that they “sniped” the author for getting donations from their works, or manga scanlator site that they “sniped” the author and publishers from their TLed Scans.
        Look, everyone can use their acquired knowledge freely, either for free or for sale. Also, don’t be a self righteous idiot telling that they’re wrong or right at your own inconvenience.

        Like

      • oezsoyb
        February 12, 2015

        Convenience* if you want to sound smart than try to be a bit more careful with the right choose of words. Exactly, people can do what they want with the freely provided raw, which is why i put the word snipe with this ” symbol in my previous statement. However, i compared the act of gravity with the one from icarus and simply pointed out that the bigger “rouge” is the one asking for donations if they want more chapters, instead of icarus who simply asks for a general donation without affecting his pace of releases. And no, not everyone can use his aquired knowledge freely or for sale and then judge others, who do the same, as wrong, which gravity did. You point out that im deciding what right or wrong is at my own convenience, but wasnt gravity doing the same when he denounced icarus? Hence, words such as “rouge scum” or “sniper” towards icarus is naturally to be neglected by anyone with common sense.

        Like

      • oezsoyb
        February 12, 2015

        In case u did not understand, that “snipe” logic was not mine, but the one from the previous comment; that is why i wrote “that logic” instead of “my logic”. Ok thats enough from me, not in the mood to sound like some fanboy, peace out.

        Like

    • Ace
      February 11, 2015

      Why the H*** can’t Icarus translate it? If he wants to, then let him. It’s a shame that people like you tell someone else they can’t do what they like to do. Translating is fun to some people, and he is bringing enjoyment to others in doing so. So why not.

      Like

  8. Dan
    February 11, 2015

    keep up the nice work!

    thanks for sharing! 🙂

    ignore the negative feedbacks. who the hell care what gravitytranslation is doing. based upon his actions, he’s just an immature brat.

    Like

  9. Syc234
    February 11, 2015

    Fine, you have me there.. by all means you are entitled to produce translated chapters freely. There is nothing stopping you, other than simple respect for the group currently working on the series. Its ok.. i guess. But why not call these posts what they are, a “preview” of chapters that WILL need proper and formal translation. My first post was from a point of anger, mainly due to the fact Gravity Translations is now considering dropping the series because of your actions. Yes, they too should grow up and accept the fact that other people share interest in translating zhan long, but at the same time your actions are partly responsible. The whole thing is just a bummer for fans of the series.. rant over.

    Like

    • oezsoyb
      February 11, 2015

      And i repeat myself, Icarus has repeated himself numerous times that people should focus on gravity translations if they want to see a higher quality output. On the other hand, the behaviour of gravity translations is pissing me off, starting a god damn witchhunt against icarus, triggering a wave of hate and anger towards icarus who is merely speedy translating for the impatient readers. Gravity can not stand his attention being taken by another person and is starting a riot against another domain, what the fuck? Are u okay with that? Im disappointed by that immature behaviour of a 08/15 and freshly made translation group, and i rather send 10 euro to icarus so he can buy a pizza than 10 euro to gravity to get an extra chapter. (Just look at their comment section, insulting and offending icarus’ behaviour, grammar, common sense and such, holy fuck…)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2015 by in Arc 3: Ch. 25-36, Volume 1 and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 456,300 hits

Zhan Long

