Icarus Translations

Zhan Long

Chapter 18- Its a Small World

In the mountain valley, I stood on top of the warm corpse of a huge wolf.

Opening the [Alchemy] menu, I selected the Seven Star Pill’s recipe. The recipe required 3 Seven Star Herbs, 3 bottles of Refined Water and finally an Alchemy Furnace. Since I had all the materials necessary, all that’s left was for me to confirm the refinement.

Ding!

 

System Notification: You have succeeded in refining a【Seven Star Pill】. Your [Alchemy] proficiency has increased by 1. Because you are the first player to refine a Seven Star Pill, you are rewarded with an extra point in charm.

 

……

 

Great! I earned a point in my charm stat. Although I still do not know what the charm stat does, surely it’s something useful. Also, since I won’t be the first player to reach level 20, or the first to have a level 3 attack combo, I can only strive to be number one in [Alchemy]. At least for now, I’m unrivaled in the art of [Alchemy] which is heartwarming.

Putting away the Seven Star Pills and taking hold of my Bramble Thorn sword, I kept moving forward. Along the way, I kill the attacking wolves and gather the scattered Seven-Star Herbs that don’t appear as often as I would like them to appear. While my efficiency isn’t at it’s maximum, the gains from the grinding is quite welcoming.

 

After nearly 2 hours, I had gathered over 112 batches of Seven-Star Herbs, But if I want to achieve level 4 in [Alchemy], I would need to refine 1000 Seven-Star Pills. The materials that go behind refining 1000 Seven-Star Pills are staggering. I would need 3000 batches of Seven-Star Herbs, in addition to 1000 Alchemy Furnaces and another 3000 bottles of Refined water. This is one of the reasons as to why top guilds are able to have first class production players.The casual player simply cannot afford to compete with such harsh resource requirements.

 

While being in a guild has it’s advantages, my own advantages are also quite significant. I can fight monsters and heal myself at the same time. The only consumables that I require are mana pills which I produce myself. So, I’m basically a self sufficient production line. In addition, after selling the Silver-Feathered Bird, I gained 20 Gold Coins, a incredible amount of wealth, which will be my fund for the materials that are vital in my level raising in [Alchemy].

 

……

 

Continuing forward, I reached the center of the Seven-Star Valley. At the center,the grass that was abundant before, became scarce. In addition, I hear a waves of howling from in front of me.. When I climb on top a short hill to locate the source of howling, the scene in front completely shocks me. At least 100 level 18 wolves were proudly howling towards the sky. In the middle of the howling wolves, there was a wolf that had golden fur covering its body. Undoubtedly, that was the Wolf King, a level 20 Gold-ranked boss, sitting there arrogantly. Behind it, there’s a large cave. Without a doubt, that cave is the Wolf King’s nest.

I licked my lips, and thought if the Wolf King has this many underlings guarding it, then I shouldn’t even think about fighting the Wolf King. But on the other hand, the Wolf King’s nest could be worth investigating, who knows, maybe there could be some special herbs inside? But if I just stroll on in, I would be the next meal for the wolves in front of the cave. Maybe I should see if I can enter through an alternative “entrance” above the cave?

Scaling the mossy rocks, I discover that the Seven-Star Herbs are grown more and more densely as I get closer to the Wolf’s cave. Careful not to let a single herb go to waste, within 10 minutes, I’ve picked over 100 batches of Seven-Starred Herbs!

Ka cha!

I carefully wedge my Bramble Thorn Sword into the surrounding rocks, and gently excavate the Seven-Star Herbs as if the herbs were my own children.

Sha sha!

As I pulled up the roots of a Seven-Star Herb, suddenly the grass and dirt around it slide down. They all slid into beyond my sight with a Sha sha sound. Did I dig through the cave?

With utmost caution and a trembling heart, I kneel down and peek into the hole that I made. Faintly, a string of light appears within the remaining sediment. Could it be that this hole connects to the Wolf King’s nest? There might be a chance for me to go into its nest! Wouldn’t the nest of a level 20 Gold-ranked boss have tons of precious treasures?

 

My heart is pumping like there’s no tomorrow… Hehe, my chance has come!

I take my Bramble Thorn Sword, and I start digging my way towards the cave. The small hole that I peeked through is becoming bigger and bigger, and before long, the dirt started to drop down by its own, and a small hole appears.

Bam!

The tip of the sword strikes a rock, instantly, a Peng sound rings and a soccer-sized rock falls down and hits one of the Wild Wolves in the cave. At the same time, the entire hill trembles, making me hang on to the hole I made with bone-white hands. After carefully examining the cave, the cave seems just like the weak Lego castles that children make. A bit of shaking, another hole, and I fear that the whole cave might collapse on its own. I don’t want to see that happen.

Suddenly, I hear unnatural sounds, it’s almost as if… players! The noise was made by players!

I quickly hide behind some rocks, and peek out. Coming out the forest is a group of players, and just not any group, it’s the Tyrant of Western Chu’s group! Finally, they’ve killed the surrounding Wolves, and advanced towards the Wolf King. In fact, Tyrant of Western Chu is at level 20! A swordsman at level 20, I wouldn’t want to mess with him!

Looks like this party wants to clear a way to kill the Wolf King.

Their team composition is very well balanced. Within the party, there is are two level 19 Monks with high HP and high Defense who would act as the front line, two Magicians that provide DPS, two elf archers, two healers, Piggy with a gun, and the leader as well. For this party, killing this level 20 Gold-ranked boss shouldn’t be too hard for them.

I make a quick decision, I’m not going to meddle with their affairs. I’ll enter the Wolf’s nest first, since I can see there are plenty of Seven-Star Herbs in there. After all, my main responsibility right now is to increase my proficiency in [Alchemy], everything else comes second.  The main purpose of my trip to this valley was to collect Seven-Star Herbs, and not to interrupt Tyrant of Western Chu’s plans. I gain nothing by doing so. Besides, I am not the type of person to hold a grudge for a long time. Even though Western Tyrant has harmed me before, why should I care about his lowly life now? Hmph, just wait until I create a SSS level attack .. then I’ll have a showdown with him…

……

Pa!

I jump down, and land gently on the inside the cave. A Wild Wolf near me quickly rushes up to kill me, sorry, rushing to its death is what I meant. With my Bramble Thorn Sword, I kill it with 4 strikes. Afterwards, I look around, unfortunately, my sight isn’t adjusted to the darkness. After about half a minute, my eyes finally adjust, and when I look more carefully, I see that the cave has a few more Wild Wolves, but more importantly, the walls have enough Seven-Starred Herbs to make me drool! I better quickly collect them!

5 minutes later, I killed 10 or so Wild Wolves, and even though their attack damage is very high, as long as I keep proper HP management, it’ll be very hard for them to kill mee. I can both heal and attack at the same time, I’m the Unbeatable Healer Swordsman!

After finishing off the Wild Wolves, I take out my shovel, and carefully collect the Seven-Star Herbs littered in the Wolf King’s nest. After nearly an hour, I completely wiped out the populations of Seven-Star Herbs within the cave, collecting near 2000 batches of the herb, my picking efficiency is godly! Just a bit more and I’ll be able to raise my [Alchemy] level to 4, but sadly I don’t have the supply of Seven-Star Herbs has been exhausted by me.

Continuing deeper in the cave, it seems to be no treasure within the cave. At least thats what the bones on Wolf King’s resting place, and some smelly feces tell me… As a member of the royalty, why would you put the toilet next to the bedroom!?

……

I spin around and prepared to leave, my mission is complete!

At the same time, I can hear a really intense battle happening outside the cave. Pinning myself against the cave wall, I take a peek outside. Woah, the Wolf underlings, about a hundred, had all been killed, and now Tyrant of Western Chu’s group just started to battle the boss. The Monk who’s holding a wooden rod get a “X” scratch on his face.Seeing the considerable damage from that attack, the two healers clumsily hurry to heal him. At the same time, the magicians keep launching their fireball, dwindling the Wolf King’s health. Currently Wolf King’s health is around 10000, and is slowly but surely decreasing. I’m guessing in about 5 minutes the Wolf King will lose his life.

Standing at the entrance of the cave, I think about my situation. If I dash out now, I am certain I’ll get seen, then I’ll die very painfully because of Tyrant of Western Chu’s hatred for me. But if I let them kill the Wolf King, the chances are that they would leave after defeating it. So I just need to wait a bit longer…

……

Grrrr!

I hear the angry cry of the Wolf King. Obviously it’s enraged with its claws flying left and right taking the monk’s HP to about 20% or so, but the healers, clumsy but reliable, quickly recover his health before he takes another hit from the Wolf King. On the other side, the Wolf King who doesn’t have any healers, has its health reduced to about 10%, 1000 HP.

Piggy smiled when he saw the end in sight: “Haha, good job guys! Let’s finish this up!”

“I expect some Gold-tier equipment from killing this boss!” Tyrant of Western Chu was also quite excited.

“Don’t joke around boss, the first Silver-tier equipment haven’t come out yet, and even the first Bronze-tier equipment haven’t come out yet, the best equipment in Ba-Huang City are Green-tier equipments, and you’re thinking about Gold-tier?”

“Ha! Let’s kill it then we’ll know!”

But at this time, the Golden Wolf King growls with anger, its fully body starts to emit a blood-red glow!

…….

“Wha.. The boss is in a frenzy?!”Tyrant of Western Chu, readied his weapon, preparing for the vicious assault of the Wolf King.

Who would have guessed… The Wolf King spun around and went straight into the cave!

“It’s not going into a frenzy, it’s escaping! Hurry and chase it!”

I was shocked as well, the Wolf King flashed straight past me and went into the depths of the cave. Such a coward… When you can’t win, you just go into the cave and hide?

……

Tyrant of Western Chu comes chasing after the Wolf King, and when he sees me, his whole face becomes livid with anger.

“The Xiao Yao bastard is here! Kill him!!”

Whir…

With his sword arm shaking from his anger, a golden hexagram starts to form at the edge of his sword! The attack is coming!

……

Shasha!

The skill finishes in an instant, and while Tyrant of Western Chu’s attack was very powerful, in the split second before it came down, I understood its path and dodged with my quick feet. A huge “MISS” pops up at my previous position. I successfully dodged the first strike! This is the instinct that I’ve gained from these few days from trying to read the movements of the wolves, subconsciously, I was forming a dodging skill!

“MISS!”

“145!”

Unfortunately, I could only dodge one of the two strike from his combo. The sword mercilessly hits, and my soul nearly breaks. Tyrant of Western Chu’s damage is a bit too high isn’t it? If he landed that combo, I would have already been dead!

.…..

Shasha…

The unsteady ground in the cave sinks slightly from our weight. Unlike Tyrant of Western Chu, whose eyes haven’t gotten used to the darkness, I can see the two Wild Wolves approaching Tyrant of Western Chu! My chance has come!

———
Author: Shi Luo Ye
TL: Gravity

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in Arc 2: Ch. 13-24, Volume 1 and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 455,746 hits

Zhan Long

